Loving this Army life

Belated Happy Birthday to my pnut

Joe has been working crazy late hours (ie. leaving at 5:30am and coming home at 10pm-1am) this week so I didn’t have the energy to write this.  So, here it is now…

HAPPY 6TH BIRTHDAY PORTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6 years ago, this adorable little guy decided to come two weeks early-ready to take on the world! He let me eat my Easter dinner (thank you, love) before my water broke.  He obviously knew how much I hate to miss dinner 😉 We made it to the hospital just in time to get a quick epidural and BAM! There came Porter! It was such a wonderful labor (yes, I did say that), and I took the first picture of him while he still had the umbilical cord attached.  I have to admit that I felt like a young girl holding this little baby.  I was 24, but I was scared to death to raise that little guy.  I knew that I married the perfect person to be his dad but what did I know about being a mom? Together, Porter and I figured it out.  I will always have that special bond with him for that reason.  He has taught me so much, and I am constantly amazed at how astute and smart he is.  He really understands things.  He has moved from Texas to Oklahoma to Kentucky to Colorado in his short 6 years of life.  He has said good-bye to Joe for two deployments, one NTC rotation, and multiple TDY trips.  And, this year, Porter fell head over heels in love with his little brother, Vander.  I am shocked by how much love he has for him.  This just goes to show what an amazing   little person he is. But, don’t think for a second that he won’t start crying at the drop of a hat.  He has been through a lot, and this life has taken a big toll on him emotionally.  But, we are working through it.  And, I will take care of this child and be the best mom that I can be for him until the day I am no longer living.  As I pray, every night “God, please watch over this child and keep him safe and healthy. Please let him live a long and healthy life and always know the joys of this life and follow in your truth. Please don’t let me outlive him.  Thank you for this amazing blessing.”

So, to my lego-loving, glow-stick dancer, and favorite superhero of all….happy birthday love.

photo (25)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment